Best Cat Doors for Doors: Purrfect Portal Wins

Seven cat doors for interior doors, ranked by opening size, locking modes, and how much cutting the install actually needs.

Share

The best cat doors for doors are led by the Purrfect Portal Meow Manor, a no-flap cutout sized 9.25 in high by 9 in wide and rated for cats up to 20 lb. If cutting a hole in a rented door is off the table, the Door Buddy Door Prop swaps the strike plate instead and holds the door open between 3 and 5 in. Everything below picks a lane between those two ideas.

Best cat doors for doors at a glance

Pick Opening / gap Cat weight Price
Best overall
Purrfect Portal Meow Manor
9.25 x 9 in, no flap Up to 20 lb Check Price
Best for pros
Door Buddy Door Prop for Cats
3 to 5 in door gap Not stated Check Price
Most versatile
Depets Large Cat Door
7.08 x 7.48 in flap, 4-way lock Under 17 lb (claim) Check Price
Best minimal setup
PetSafe Interior Cat Door
5.75 x 5.75 in flap, 2-way lock Up to 15 lb Check Price
Best budget pick
TGIOW Cat Door Latch
2.5 to 6 in door gap, 2-pack Not stated Check Price
Best for families
ikuso Indoor Cat Door
9.05 in tall tunnel, screw-in Not stated Check Price
Best upgrade
XREY Cat Door Interior Doors Large
No-flap cutout, flush-mount Up to 25 lb Check Price

How I cut the field down to seven

The word "doors" in this search is doing two jobs at once. It can mean a cat door mounted in a door, or it can mean a device that props the door open a few inches. Amazon returns both, and I kept both because the buyer's real problem is the same: give the cat through-access without giving it to the dog, the toddler, or the draft.

I ranked on four criteria, weighted in this order.

  1. Fit certainty. How clearly the listing states the opening size and the cat weight limit. A cat door for doors is useless if it is too small.
  2. Install commitment. Does it need a jigsaw or a screwdriver.
  3. Locking or width control. How the product handles unwanted traffic in the other direction.
  4. Set position on price. Used only to break ties.

Three groups came out of that pass. The cut-in flap doors, where PetSafe and Depets live. The cut-in no-flap doors, which is the Purrfect Portal, XREY and ikuso lane. And the door-prop devices from Door Buddy and TGIOW, which do not cut the door at all.

I left out any listing that did not publish an opening dimension in inches, and any listing whose weight limit disagreed with its own opening size. That took the field from a longer shortlist to these seven, all in the best cat doors for doors category and all with dimensions I could copy rather than guess.

A note on the search itself. "For doors" is not a specification: the entire category is for doors. Take it as shorthand for interior doors specifically, and check each listing before you buy: Depets and PetSafe are the two here that explicitly cover both interior and exterior doors, while the rest are pitched at interior use.

1. Purrfect Portal Meow Manor® Cat Door Interior Door — Best overall

The Meow Manor wins because it publishes the largest usable opening in the set and skips the flap that most cats refuse to learn.

Purrfect Portal Meow Manor cat door installed in a white interior door — proves the flush, no-flap cutout shape

Best for: cats up to 20 lb who hate flap noise Skip it if: you want a lockable door

The frame measures 8.25 x 6.5 in on the outside and Purrfect Portal states an opening of 9.25 in high by 9 in wide, sized for cats up to 20 lb. That is a bigger clear opening than the PetSafe (5.75 x 5.75 in) and the Depets (7.08 x 7.48 in), and it is the reason a Maine Coon or a heavier domestic shorthair actually fits. There is no flap, no magnet and no training curve: the cat walks through the first time.

The trade-off is the same feature. With no flap, sound and light pass through both ways, and there is no lock mode to keep the cat in. So this is a door for the cat's benefit, not for privacy in the other direction, and the two-way flap models below are the better call if you sometimes want to shut the cat out.

This is the most expensive pick in the set and one of two premium picks alongside the XREY, but it is the one buyers here choose more often than the other cutout doors, and the published dimensions are the reason.

Pros:

  • Largest published opening in the set at 9.25 x 9 in
  • No flap to train around or replace
  • Weight rating covers cats up to 20 lb
  • Frame footprint stays compact at 8.25 x 6.5 in

Cons:

  • No lock mode in either direction
  • Requires cutting a rectangular hole in the door
  • The most expensive pick in this set

2. Door Buddy Door Prop for Cats — Best for pros

The Door Buddy solves the same problem as a cat door for doors without cutting one, by holding the door itself ajar between 3 and 5 in.

Door Buddy door prop holding an interior door open a few inches — proves the strike-plate mechanism keeps the gap adjustable

Best for: renters who cannot cut a hole Skip it if: your dog is small enough to fit through a 5 in gap

Door Buddy replaces the existing strike plate on the door jamb, using the screws already there, and adds a latch that catches the door with an adjustable width of 3 to 5 in. A human turns the handle from either side to open it fully. That is the entire mechanism. There is nothing to train the cat to use, because the cat walks through a slightly open door it already understands.

This is the pick that sells fastest of the seven, and the reason is the install: it takes about the same time as changing a strike plate, which is minutes. In a rental, it leaves the door untouched. In an owned home, it means the same door can go back to normal by swapping the strike plate back.

Two caveats. The listing does not state a weight limit for the cat, because the cat is not what it constrains. And any dog that fits through a 5 in gap is not blocked by this device. Compare a 3 in gap against your dog's shoulder before you commit.

Pros:

  • No cutting, no drilling of new holes
  • Portable and reversible for renters
  • Adjustable 3 to 5 in door gap
  • Sells faster than the rest of this set

Cons:

  • No barrier against small dogs
  • Draft and sound both travel through the gap
  • No published weight limit for the cat

3. Depets Large Cat Door — Most versatile

Depets is the flap door that flexes furthest: four locking modes and a listing that covers interior doors, exterior doors and windows.

Depets four-way locking cat flap in white — proves the transparent flap and rotary lock dial

Best for: buyers who want a lockable flap for both interior and exterior use Skip it if: your cat weighs more than 17 lb

The Depets frame measures 9.92 x 9.25 x 2.16 in with a 7.08 x 7.48 in inner opening, and the cut-out template is 7.7 x 8.3 in. Depets claims cats under 17 lb, and the flap runs in four modes: in only, out only, both ways, or fully locked. That is the widest control set in the group, and it is why this door bridges use cases the no-flap picks do not.

It weighs 0.85 lb, has a transparent flap so the cat can see the other side, and Depets says the exterior screen is water resistant with a brush strip at the closing edge to cut noise. Treat the water resistance claim as the manufacturer's, not as a rating.

The 7.48 in tall opening is nearly two inches shorter than the Purrfect Portal, and a stocky cat may hesitate at the flap for the first week. Depets is also the entry-price pick within the cut-in doors, and it is the second-cheapest pick overall. Get the ruler out before you cut.

Pros:

  • Four locking modes, the most of any pick here
  • Listing covers interior, exterior and windows
  • Transparent flap improves first-use adoption
  • Entry price for a cut-in door

Cons:

  • 17 lb weight limit rules out the largest cats
  • Flap models need some training
  • Cut-out template larger than the flap opening

4. PetSafe Interior Cat Door — Best minimal setup

PetSafe is the compact, published-spec flap door for a single small cat and a hidden litter box.

PetSafe interior cat door with clear hard flap in a white frame — proves the compact 7.75 by 9 in footprint and lock slider

Best for: a single-cat home under 15 lb where the litter box hides behind an interior door Skip it if: you want a no-flap opening

The frame is 7.75 x 9 x 1.25 in and weighs 0.68 lb. Flap opening is 5.75 x 5.75 in, and PetSafe rates it for cats up to 15 lb. Two lock modes: locked or unlocked. The listing states it fits interior doors from 0.5 to 2 in thick and includes a cutting template and hardware. Released in 2007, this is the oldest design in the set and the one with the most conservative published spec sheet.

The 15 lb rating is the tightest here. It is fine for the median domestic shorthair and too tight for a heavy tabby or a Maine Coon. The 5.75 in square opening is also the smallest, so a broad-shouldered cat may crouch to fit. Against the Depets, PetSafe loses two lock modes and gains a smaller footprint and a warranty on the listing.

For a small cat, a thinner interior door and a straightforward job, this is the pick that overpromises the least.

Pros:

  • Compact 7.75 x 9 in frame footprint
  • Warranty listed on the product page
  • Fits interior doors 0.5 to 2 in thick
  • Cutting template included

Cons:

  • 5.75 in square opening is the smallest here
  • 15 lb weight cap rules out larger cats
  • Only two locking modes

5. TGIOW Cat Door Latch — Best budget pick

TGIOW is the door-prop idea at half the commitment: two latches in the pack, five adjustable holes, and no strike plate to swap.

TGIOW cat door latch strap holding an interior door slightly open — proves the flexible strap and adjustment holes

Best for: someone testing whether a door-prop approach even works Skip it if: you have a persistent large dog

You get two latches per pack (count 2, 3.2 oz shipping weight), each with five adjustment holes. TGIOW says the width adjusts across 2.5 to 6 in and the strap is PE with a stainless steel screw. It is the cheapest pick in the set, and the second-fastest seller here. Install is a single tail screw into the door frame's existing strike plate area.

This is the pick I would try first if you are unsure the door-prop concept will suit your household. Two units in the pack means you can set one on the litter box door and one on the bedroom, or keep a spare. The range runs a full inch wider at each end than the Door Buddy, so a very slim cat can pass through 2.5 in and a very shy one has 6 in to play with.

The trade-off against the Door Buddy is rigidity: a flexible strap is easier for a determined dog to push past than a fixed latch, and the listing does not publish a dog-weight limit for either device.

Pros:

  • Cheapest of the seven
  • Two latches per pack
  • Adjustment range wider than the Door Buddy at both ends
  • No hole cutting, no strike plate swap

Cons:

  • Flexible strap yields more than a rigid latch
  • No dog-weight limit published
  • No cat-weight limit published

6. ikuso Indoor Cat Door — Best for families

ikuso is the screw-in tunnel door for hollow interior doors where tape and adhesives have already failed.

ikuso indoor cat door tunnel with rounded opening in white ABS — proves the tunnel depth suited to hollow-core doors

Best for: hollow doors where a screwed frame beats tape Skip it if: you want the widest opening in the set

Frame dimensions are 9.05 x 10.6 x 2.45 in, and ikuso publishes an interior tunnel 9.05 in tall and 10.55 in long, with a 6.89 in width mentioned in the listing. ABS construction. The listing says it suits hollow doors, solid doors and inner doors, and installs with screws rather than tape or adhesive. It carries a 90-day warranty on the listing, which is uncommon in this set.

The 2.45 in depth is the deepest tunnel here, which is the point: it wraps the cut edges of a hollow-core door so the cat is not brushing against exposed cardboard honeycomb. That is the failure mode taped kits hit in family homes with kids and cats and slammed doors.

Against the Purrfect Portal, ikuso publishes no cat weight limit and a narrower usable width. And the ikuso is the slowest seller of the seven, though that speaks more to obscurity than to any flaw in the specification.

Pros:

  • Deepest tunnel here at 2.45 in
  • 90-day warranty published on the listing
  • Screw-in mount instead of tape
  • ABS construction claim

Cons:

  • Slowest seller of the seven
  • No cat weight limit published
  • Narrower usable width than the Purrfect Portal

7. XREY Cat Door Interior Doors Large — Best upgrade

XREY takes the no-flap idea and stretches the cat weight limit to 25 lb, the highest published rating in the set.

XREY large no-flap cat door in a modern white finish — proves the flush-mount profile and unobstructed opening

Best for: cats up to 25 lb in a household with heavy door traffic Skip it if: you want published weight and warranty details

XREY publishes a 25 lb cat weight limit, five pounds above the Purrfect Portal and ten above the PetSafe. It is a flush-mount, no-flap cutout in ABS, described as fitting standard interior doors from 1.25 in thickness upward. The finish is white, and the design is pitched as discreet.

That 25 lb rating is the reason to buy it. A Ragdoll, a heavy Maine Coon or a large mixed-breed sits above the 20 lb line the Purrfect Portal draws, and XREY is the only pick here that goes further. There is no flap and no lock, same as the Purrfect Portal, and the same caveats apply: sound and light pass through.

Here is the honest weakness. The frame dimensions on the listing (5 x 3 x 3 in) look like a packaging figure rather than an opening size, and no warranty is stated. It sits in the premium price band alongside the Purrfect Portal without offering the same clarity of spec, so the case for it rests on a single number: the 25 lb cat.

Pros:

  • Highest published cat weight limit at 25 lb
  • No flap to train around
  • Flush-mount finish
  • ABS scratch-resistant claim

Cons:

  • Listed frame dimensions look like packaging rather than opening
  • No warranty stated
  • Premium price without matching published spec detail

Cut a hole or prop the door: which suits you?

The single biggest decision when you shop for cat doors for doors is whether the door itself gets modified. Once you settle that, four of the seven picks disappear from your shortlist, and the choice inside the remaining three is quick.

Cut a hole when you own the door and the cat setup is permanent. A cutout gives the cat full-time, hands-off access. It draws no draft when the flap or opening is sized right, and it costs the door itself, which is often replaceable for less than a new interior door slab. Purrfect Portal, ikuso, XREY, Depets and PetSafe all live here.

Prop the door when you rent, when the setup is temporary, or when you want the option to walk through yourself. A prop keeps the door working as a door. It leaves no permanent mark. It costs a fixed gap of a few inches, and that gap is what limits it against small dogs. Door Buddy and TGIOW live here.

There is a middle answer that neither device gives you: a cut-in flap with a full lock, which is closer to what a permanent installation looks like. Depets and PetSafe both fit that description, and Depets goes further with four modes rather than two.

How big does the opening really need to be?

Cat door sizing goes wrong in the same direction almost every time: the buyer measures the cat lying down. A cat in motion is taller than a cat asleep, and the shoulder is the widest point, not the belly.

  • Small to medium cats up to 15 lb are comfortable in a 5.75 x 5.75 in flap like the PetSafe.
  • Standard shorthairs from 15 to 20 lb want at least the Depets 7.08 x 7.48 in opening, and the Purrfect Portal 9 x 9.25 in is more forgiving.
  • Large breeds and heavy cats past 20 lb should be at the XREY 25 lb rating, and even then, a physical measure of shoulder width plus a half-inch of clearance is the check that matters.

The listings publish weight limits because weight correlates with size, but two 18 lb cats can be shaped very differently. Measure the shoulder standing, add half an inch, and compare against the opening dimension, not the frame footprint. On the cut-in doors here, the outer frame is always larger than the hole: PetSafe's frame is 7.75 x 9 in around a 5.75 x 5.75 in opening, and Depets' 9.92 x 9.25 in frame wraps a 7.08 x 7.48 in hole.

Locking modes, and when they earn their keep

Only three picks here lock at all. Two door-prop picks are open by definition, and three no-flap cutouts are open by design. That leaves Depets, PetSafe and the two prop tools when you want any control over which way the cat goes.

Depets has four modes: in only, out only, both ways, and fully locked. In only is what you want when a storm is coming and you want the cat in for the night. Out only is what you want if you have a new cat you are keeping out of a specific room. Both ways is the default. Fully locked is for travel days.

PetSafe has two modes: locked and unlocked. That covers most single-cat households with one flap on one door.

Door Buddy and TGIOW do not lock the cat, they limit the door gap. That is a different job: they keep a dog out rather than keep a cat in. Choose them when your problem is the dog eating the cat food, not the cat wandering.

If your household has more than one cat with different access needs, the four-mode Depets is the only pick here that can give one cat entry and lock another out on the same door.

What the listings will not tell you

Four things the product pages leave you to figure out.

  1. Door thickness. PetSafe publishes 0.5 to 2 in, XREY says 1.25 in and up, and the others are vague. Measure the door before you order.
  2. How to cut a hollow-core door cleanly. A jigsaw with a fine blade and painter's tape along the cut line stops the veneer splintering. ikuso's tunnel design is the most forgiving of a messy cut because the frame is deep.
  3. Whether the cat will actually use a flap. Some cats hate flaps forever. That is the Purrfect Portal's whole pitch, and it is not marketing: a flap-averse cat is a cat that will sit next to the litter-box door and cry.
  4. Draft and heat loss. No cat door for doors here has an insulation rating on the listing. Interior doors matter less than exterior, but a whole-house HVAC balance can shift when a cutout opens a low-airflow room to the main hallway.

The one thing worth doing before you drill: hold the frame up in place with painter's tape, let the cat approach it, and see how they behave. Cats that avoid the shape avoid the door.

The verdict

For most buyers looking at the best cat doors for doors, the Purrfect Portal Meow Manor is the right default. The 9.25 x 9 in opening covers the widest range of cats without a flap to train around, and the 20 lb weight rating covers everything short of the very largest breeds. It costs more than the other cutouts here, and it does not lock, but those are the trade-offs of the biggest, simplest opening in the set.

Two conditions flip the pick. If you rent, or if cutting the door is a hard no, the Door Buddy Door Prop is the honest answer: it does the same job for the cat by a different mechanism, and it leaves the door itself untouched. If your household has a cat above 20 lb, the XREY steps in on the strength of its 25 lb rating alone, with the caveat that its spec sheet is thinner than the Purrfect Portal's.

Depets is the pick for anyone who wants a lockable flap that works on both interior and exterior doors, and PetSafe is the compact, published-spec option for a small cat and a straightforward job. TGIOW earns its place as the cheapest test of the door-prop approach, and ikuso is the tunnel option for hollow-core doors where screws beat tape.

FAQ

Are cat doors for doors suitable for exterior doors too?

Cat doors for doors in this set are mostly built for interior use. Depets and PetSafe both state exterior compatibility on their listings, with Depets adding a water-resistant screen claim. The three no-flap picks and both door-prop tools are pitched at interior doors only, because a hole with no flap or a permanently propped-open door loses too much heat on an exterior wall.

Is a no-flap cat door worth it over a flap model?

A no-flap cat door is worth it when your cat refuses to learn a flap or when you want zero mechanism to maintain. The Purrfect Portal, XREY and ikuso all skip the flap, which means no training, no magnet to weaken and no plastic to crack. You trade away lock modes and any barrier to sound or light. For a household where the cat door lives inside the home, that trade usually favours the no-flap side.

What size opening fits a cat up to 20 lb?

For a cat up to 20 lb, aim for an opening around 9 in in each direction. The Purrfect Portal publishes 9.25 in tall by 9 in wide at that exact weight rating, and the XREY goes further with a 25 lb limit. The Depets 7.08 x 7.48 in opening is rated for cats under 17 lb, which is the closest match in a flap model but tight for anything at the top of the range.

Purrfect Portal versus Depets: which is the better pick?

Purrfect Portal versus Depets comes down to whether you want a lock. Purrfect Portal gives you the bigger opening (9.25 x 9 in against 7.08 x 7.48 in) and no flap to fuss with, but no locking at all. Depets gives you four lock modes and interior-plus-exterior compatibility, at a smaller opening and a 17 lb cat limit. Pick Purrfect Portal for pure through-access, Depets for control.

What is the biggest mistake buyers make with cat doors for doors?

The biggest mistake buyers make with cat doors for doors is measuring the cat lying down instead of standing. A cat in motion is taller than a cat asleep, and the shoulder is what has to fit, not the belly. Measure shoulder height standing, add half an inch, and compare against the opening size on the listing, never the outer frame dimension. Getting this wrong is why cats refuse to use a door.

The right cat door for doors is the one you can install this weekend and forget about next week. If your cat is under 20 lb and cutting a hole is on the table, order the Purrfect Portal, borrow a jigsaw, and give yourself an hour with painter's tape and the template. If the door has to stay whole, the Door Buddy replaces one strike plate and you are done. Everything else in this list is a version of one of those two ideas, calibrated for a heavier cat, a smaller budget, or a hollow-core door that will not survive tape.

Last updated: September 25, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.